top of page

How to meditate badly

These are my thoughts, going in circles. And that's OKAY.


I started meditating a few weeks ago. It's one of my strategies for climbing out of depression -- to calm my anxiety and start to understand the nature of my thoughts and consciousness, so I'm not trapped in the cycle of negativity my brain is so good at creating. I use an app called Medito, that made it very simple to start. Or, sometimes I simply put on meditation music, set a timer for 5 or 6 minutes, and count my breaths, focusing on the sensation of breathing.


OF COURSE MY THOUGHTS INTRUDE. This is known as "normal." My therapist says the benefit of meditation comes from bringing your attention BACK to the breath. So that's what I do. I keep meditating, imperfectly. If you've been thinking of meditating but don't know where to start.......



yup. That's AI trying to write "This is a sign." A perfect metaphor for my encouragement to "meditate badly." xoxoxo KMAC


Recent Posts

See All

PARKINSON'S HYPER-AWARENESS MONTH

Maybe it's all the emails about PD pelting my inbox like cold April hail. Maybe it's because so many of my loved ones have died in the...

Comments


bottom of page